Central Hindi Directorate
Hindi Audio Cassettes
Video Cassettes
Other Info
Download Form
What's New
Scheme of Publication  
  Hindi Version  



dictionaries of regional languages


I. Multi Lingual Dictionaries

1. Bharatiya Bhasha Kosh: This dictionary of Indian Languages has been published to familiarize the learned citizens of our country with the rich and common heritage of vocabulary of Indian languages. This Dictionary is in two parts and contains approximately 5000 entries. First part consists of classified words, (in the sourus Style) whereas, the general words in alphabetical order have been given in the second part. Our endeavour has been to avoid duplication as far as possible. The format of this dictionary is as follows: 1. Hindi words. 2. Their grammatical category 3. Various shades of meaning of the main entry. Thereafter, in next 13 columns, the synonyms have been given in the following Indian Languages specified in the 8th schedule of the constitution of India namely, Punjabi, Urdu, Kashmiri, Sindhi, Marathi, Gujrati, Bangla, Assamese, Oriya, Telugu, Tamil, Malayalam and Kannada respectively in Devanāgarī script. Now this Dictionary has been revised and it also includes equivalents of four other India languages namely Sanskrit, Konkani, Nepali and Manipuri. Price : Rs. 4138, Pages : 2187, Year of Publication = 2012 (Second Edition).
2. Tatsam Shabd Kosh: Sanskrit is the source Language for the vocabulary of most of the Indian Languages. In the light of this fact, it was decided that a dictionary was to be prepared which helps us to recognize root of the words of these languages. Keeping in new, this objective, the dictionary entitled 'Tatsama Shabda Kosh' was prepared and published in the year 1988.

'Tatsama Shabda Kosh' contains approximately 1600 entries which are being use in Hindi and other Indian languages as 'Tatsama' words. There are 15 columns in this dictionary. The first column contains Sanskrit (Tatsam) words as basic entries. The second column is of Hindi. Rest of the 13 columns represent parallel word-forms of Sanskrit words being used in the languages specified (upto 1988) the eight schedule of the constitution of India, namely Assamese, Oriya, Urdu, Kannada, Kashmiri, Gujarati, Tamil, Telugu, Punjabi, Bangla, Marathi, Malayalam and Sindhi respectively. The Tatsama words as such or their modified forms according to the genious of each language have been given with their major shades of meaning. All the columns are in Devanāgarī script. Price: Rs. 323, Pages= 657, Year of Publication : 1988.
3. Bhartiya Bhasha Parichay :  'Bhartiya Bhasha Parichay' is a consolidated book containing introduction of all twenty two accepted Indian languages namely Assamese, Oriya, Urdu, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Gujrati, Dogri, Tamil, Telugu, Nepali, Punjabi, Bangla, Bodo, Manipuri, Marathi, Malayalam, Maitahili, Santhali, Sanskrit, Sindhi and Hindi respectively. Linguistic, historic and geographical brief history of these languages have been given in separate articles written by experts on the subject. Price : Rs. 237, Pages : 556, Year of Publication : 2010.
4. Hindi Lekhak Sandarbhika :  Hindi Lekhak Sandarbhika is the new and revised edition of Directorate’s earlier publication ‘Hindi Sahityakar Vivarnika’. It is published with the aim to provide brief professional and creative contribution of various Hindi writers and literateur working for the enhancement of Hindi language, alongwith their personal and family information, at one platform. It provides brief profile of 1198 Hindi writers alongwith their writing contributions and personal informations. On the basis of literary and non-literary Hindi work (original writing, translation and editing work), those Hindi writers are also included in this book whose work is based on subjects other then Hindi literature e.g. Science, Journalism, environment etc. Price Rs. 450, Total pages 773 Edition: Revised Second, Year of Publication : 2010.